OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu

13326677

Title: OCD Love Story
Author: Corey Ann Haydu
Genre: Young Adult
Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: When Bea meets Beck, she knows instantly that he’s her kind of crazy. Sweet, strong, kinda-messed-up Beck understands her like no one else can. He makes her feel almost normal. He makes her feel like she could fall in love again. But despite her feelings for Beck, Bea can’t stop thinking about someone else: a guy who is gorgeous and magnetic… and has no idea Bea even exists. But Bea knows a lot about him. She spends a lot of time watching him. She has a journal full of notes. Some might even say she’s obsessed. Bea tells herself she’s got it all under control. But this isn’t a choice, it’s a compulsion. The truth is, she’s breaking down…and she might end up breaking her own heart.

I was really excited when I found this book because it combined two parts of my life that I’ll always have: OCD and love. Well, OCD mainly. Love will come and go. The last time I tried to read a book about OCD I had a really hard time with it because the symptoms this character had were annoying even to me. I had to put it down.

This one, however, I could definitely couldn’t put down. Bea, the main character, has a very obsessive personality. Whether it’s Beck-the boy she met at a school dance and then again in an OCD therapy group-or Austin and his wife-a couple that goes to therapy right before Bea’s private sessions-Bea can’t keep herself from thinking about them.

Without getting into the story line (and spoilers) I can say that Bea’s obsessions and compulsions definitely made me feel better about mine. Some of the things she does makes me cringe and go “No, Bea, don’t!” But others I could relate to. Her fear of running people over while driving, for instance, I have. Her obsession with love and relationships I have as well.

This book is not a light, fluffy read. Don’t get me wrong, there’s plenty of fluff, but there’s also a lot of hard OCD symptoms. Beck, for instance, must be clean. He washes himself so much that his entire body is red and chapped. He works out at the gym so much he massively dehydrates himself. And Bea… well, just read the book and you’ll see hers for yourself.

With accurate OCD portrayals, interesting characters, and high school love, I thoroughly enjoyed this story.

Leave a Reply

