Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

snow like ashes

Title: Snow Like Ashes
Author: Sara Raasch
Genre: Young Adult
Rating: ★★★

Summary: Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

I’ve been avoiding this review for a while because as much as I wanted to love this book, I have my reservations. And it’s not because the story isn’t good. You can clearly recognize the amount of time and effort that went into this novel. Raasch’s use of the seasons as Kingdoms and the idea of magical conduits and female power all contribute to a story that I’d never avoid reading. And Meira is feisty. Mather is adorable and damaged. Even Sir has room in my heart.

But the entire time I read this book I couldn’t get past the fact that I was reading a book, if that makes sense. As much as I wanted to get lost in the world and live Meira’s life, I wanted to grab a red pen a little bit more. And it’s not like I was itching to edit world building or character growth: because there was so much of that already in the story. it was more that I couldn’t get on board with her sentence structure. But with all of the people that love this book, i’m beginning to wonder if it’s a personal preference.

I gave this book three stars because I want people to read it. The world is so intricate and the story is so interesting and people should give it a chance. I hope that the words won’t get to you like they got to me.

Check this post out on tumblr to see why words can sometimes get in my way.

it's okay not to be okay

Leave a Reply

