J by Howard Jacobson

Title: J
Author: Howard Jacobson
Genre: Fiction
Rating: N/A (DNF)

Synopsis: Two people fall in love, not yet knowing where they have come from or where they are going. Kevern doesn’t know why his father always drew two fingers across his lips when he said a world starting with a J. It wasn’t then, and isn’t now, the time or place to be asking questions. Ailinn too has grown up in the dark about who she was or where she came from. On their first date Kevern kisses the bruises under her eyes. He doesn’t ask who hurt her. Brutality has grown commonplace. They aren’t sure if they have fallen in love of their own accord, or whether they’ve been pushed into each other’s arms. But who would have pushed them, and why?

Hanging over the lives of all the characters in this novel is a momentous catastrophe – a past event shrouded in suspicion, denial and apology, now referred to as What Happened, If It Happened.

I rarely mark a book as “did not finish,” but I honestly have no desire to read this book. I’ve tried to pick it up a few times and the prose gets to me. It’s very lengthy and hard to follow. I’m not a huge fan of authors who try to be witty by showing how they can write long sentences while still using correct grammar. I’d rather not work so hard to figure out what they’re trying to say.

I may pick it back up at a later date when I feel like a challenge, but it probably won’t be for a while. It doesn’t help that I read this review on I Lay Reading. I unfortunately had requested this book before my friend had read it.

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

2 thoughts on “J by Howard Jacobson

Leave a Reply

