Mixtapes and Stories

Death_to_stock_Marzocco_Coffee_10

I was thinking about mix tapes today. Sometimes after I finish a book I like to find songs that match and put them in a playlist; and as I was doing that today for The Love That Split The World, it reminded me of a similar one.

It’s always been through music that I felt connected to the world around me. So it would make sense that when I started seriously dating somebody I would want to share with them the songs that I felt connected the two of us. This is the first mix tape I ever made. It’s still my favorite.

I’m not posting this because I want him back. I really, truly hope he’s happy.

I’m posting this just to say I miss him. Full stop. Because I’m thankful for the two years we had, but I’m also thankful for the years we’ve been apart. I grew so much with him. I’ve grown so much because he let me go. Even when I didn’t have the strength to.

So I’m taking this mix back. I’m making it my story. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

I miss you… thank you.

Collide-Howie Day

Even the best fall down sometimes
Even the wrong words seem to rhyme
Out of the doubt that fills my mind
I somehow find you and I collide

[Because I’m always fighting my walls for you.]

Come Away With Me-Norah Jones

And I want to wake up with the rain
Falling on a tin roof
While I’m safe there in your arms
So all I ask is for you
To come away with me in the night
Come away with me

[The only way to really be together is to get away for a little while.]

I Look So Good (Without You)-Jesse James

My life’s never been better.

[The only song that doesn’t fit, but means so much because of where it’s from]

The Way You Are-Bruno Mars

When I see your face
There’s not a thing that I would change
Cause you’re amazing
Just the way you are
And when you smile,
The whole world stops and stares for awhile
Cause girl you’re amazing
Just the way you are

[Because you always tell me I’m different; but in a good way]

Mine-Taylor Swift

Do you remember all the city lights on the water?
You saw me start to believe for the first time
You made a rebel of a careless man’s careful daughter
You are the best thing that’s ever been mine

[We stayed out late, just talking. But I swear we were the closest we’ve ever been.]

I Won’t Disagree-Kate Voegele

Lately you make me weaker in the knees
And race through my veins baby every time you’re close to me
Take me away to places I ain’t seen
They say you’ve got a hold on me:
And I won’t disagree

[We’ll never get enough.]

Paperweight-Joshua Radin

Happy to lay here
Just happy to be here
I’m happy to know you
Play me a song
Your newest one
Please leave your taste on my tongue
Paperweight on my back
Cover me like a blanket

[Connections; we still feel them.]

Undiscovered-James Morrison

Well the time it takes to know someone
It all can change before you know it’s gone
So close your eyes feel the way I’m with you now
Believe there’s nothing wrong

[Living in the moment.]

When You Say Nothing At All-Alison Krauss

The smile on your face lets me know that you need me
There’s a truth in your eyes sayin’ you’ll never leave me
The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me if ever I fall
You say it best when you say nothing at all

[The way you make me feel, you show me that I make you feel it too.]

Dancing-Elisa

So I put my arms around you around you
And I hope that I will do no wrong
My eyes are on you they’re on you
And I hope that you won’t hurt me

[I’m finally falling, and even though I’m scared, I’m giving it all to you.]

Dirty Little Secret-The All American Rejects

I’ll keep you my dirty little secret,
(Dirty little secret)
Don’t tell anyone or you’ll be just another regret,
(Just another regret, hope that you can keep it)
My dirty little secret.
Who has to know?

[An RA and a resident… welcome to college, right?]

Leave a Reply

