Because I’ll Forever Drink Coffee Like a Gilmore

1479584836-gilmore-girls

Or, why Gilmore Girls has always come into my life at the right time.

It seems that all people are talking about this holiday season is the Gilmore Girls Revival. And rightfully so. After nine years of having to leave Lorelai and Rory Gilmore to the cold, cruel world we get to see them again. Only, they haven’t lived Happily Ever After.

At least, not in the capital letter sense.

I don’t want to go into full detail of what happens in the four episode arc, but for those of you who haven’t finished yet, be forewarned of spoilers.

We pick back up with the famous Gilmore Girls almost like we left them. Lorelai and Luke are together, but not married. Rory is writing, but without a stable job. It seems like the perfect set up for a long, fulfilling arc that shows the characters finding themselves again and getting back on track. But that’s not what happens.

There were moments that felt justified, moments where life worked out for them the way fans have rooted for them to go. But other times, these lovable characters made choices that were morally questionable, or funny, or downright dumb. And when the series ended I was so disappointed with the last four words I didn’t know if I could write this post.

But then I come back to the show as a whole. I think about how when I finally finished the original series for the first time I had just graduated from college like Rory had. I think about how I struggled so hard at that point to find a job just like she did. I think about how I sat on my mother’s couch and cried during the last episode because IΒ got it. The fear of the unknown, the anticipation of change, officially leaving home for the last time. All of that was right at my fingertips. And I felt so kindred with Rory because of it.

Fast forward to 2016. I’ve been out of undergrad almost three years. I’m working at a job I never would have expected and I’m paying my way through grad school. Life is not easy. And while there are certain decisions Rory makes that I couldn’t morally get behind, her struggle to be happy and to make good choices in the midst of wondering where the heck she is going is so palpably real and present in my life. So I appreciate that she doesn’t have it together. The last four words, while frustrating, are understandable. (And completely full circle).

So whatΒ I’m holding onto through the whining and hoping more from Netfix is forthcoming, is that I know Rory will be okay. And if she can be okay, then I will be too.

Also, it’s time for me to finish my damn book.

Let the coffee guzzling commence.

Leave a Reply

